Why I am Voting for President Obama and not Mitt Romney

Barack Obama FORWARD Facebook cover

Barack Obama FORWARD Facebook cover (Photo credit: circulating)

Yes, I do use italics here. Forgive me. It’s nearly time to cast a ballot, and I want to be as clear as I possibly can at this hour of night. . . er, morning.

I have been away from this blog for over a week now, but I’m not going to waste words talking about how sorry I am for it. I probably needed the break, and maybe you did too. Needless to say, it’s been quite busy for both of us, what with earthquakes, hurricanes and election campaigns. But I’ve also been busy working on some new poems, and some new poetry projects. I may have overdone the posts about my last big project; lord knows it wore me out, but it was a great experience, almost reading for the governor’s wife (she had to leave before my reading. Ah well).

And so now it is long after three A.M. the night/morning before elections here in the U. S. of A. I doubt if you’ve been reading this blog for very long that you doubt who I am voting for. In fact, I know you know, because I know you read the title of this post. So much for sneaking up on you with this one. But even as I write this, I am realizing that there isn’t much more to say. Sure, I’ve had my moments of disappointment with Barack Obama, but they are few really. I cannot expect any president to do everything I want him to do. Hell, I cannot even make myself do everything I want me to do. But I want to be clear that I am in no way voting for the lesser of two evils, or as “The Economist” said this week, “the devil we (I) know.”

I am voting for the same man I voted for in 2008. Why? Because I have seen some real change. He didn’t promise it would be overnight. He said it would take time, and the work of many. He seemed like the first president in years willing not just to give orders, but to lead and to delegate. He’s proven my original assessment of him to be correct, even if he tried my patience for a while, playing the gentleman, trying to work with men who had no interest in working with him.

He’s a bit more knowledgeable now, especially about how to deal with that opposition from the Republican leaders who he naively assumed wanted to represent the people who elected them. Well. . . such are the faults of a good man, perhaps a man who projects too much of his own good will on others. And if your greatest fault is thinking people better than they really are, well that’s a pretty good track record. I believe he’s learned fast.

I could mention Obamacare. It’s a big deal. I’ve been listening for decades to politicians talking about this. Finally someone does something about it. The funny thing is that the man running against him designed the original prototype for his own state, and now vows to repeal it if he is elected. For the love of pete, the guy cannot even agree with himself over the health care issue. 

I could mention education, and the desire to make sure my sons have a fair shot and not crushing debt after they graduate from college. Romney’s plan is to tell the kids to get a loan, “from your parents.” Um. Mitt, hello? Mr. Romney? Governor, are you listening? I’m still paying back my student loans. I didn’t get wealthy “harvesting” the profits (your words) from failing companies, downsizing them, and sending jobs overseas. I don’t have the money to loan them. Maybe had I acted when I was quite young, and maybe had I been less scrupulous and more devious, I would have the means, but that isn’t my situation. You, sir, are not only wrong, but out of touch with the people you so ardently wish to lead.

Mitt Romney Steve Pearce event 056

Mitt Romney Steve Pearce event 056 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I could mention foreign policy, but I said I’d be brief. Without quoting anything, but just asking you to go back and look at the third debate between the two candidates, tell me why you think that Romney will be capable of doing anything but getting us into war with Iran as quickly as possible? Obama on the other hand has a steady hand, and the respect of most of the world, including our Allies. Romney cannot even show up in Britain without pissing them off, bragging about how well he did the Olympic games back home. Again, out of touch  (it’s nicer than calling him a doofus).

I could mention equality, for women and gays as well. I could mention a lot of things in the positive, but I haven’t been overly political lately here, and we don’t have much time. The polls open in three hours. I’m not including a lot of links  here, but take a look at these next few videos.

The first is  from 2007, and it has recently gone viral. I realize that Mickleson was probably baiting and annoying the hell out of Romney. I realize that once again he didn’t know he was being filmed (Disney was right to say that we are always on stage; oh the troubles we get into when we think otherwise). But watch how fake he is on the air, that plastic used-car-salesman smile, and how much of a bully he is when he thinks the microphones are all off. Now I don’t agree with all the liberals who say this was over the top. He’s probably done worse, but he’s definitely consistent in his frustration when he feels cornered.

More importantly, notice what he says about his faith. Did you know that he considers himself a “morally consistent Mormon?” Those were Mickleson’s words, but Romney replied, “I am.” As a former leader in his church Romney insists to the radio host that he knows his church beliefs better. Then he goes on to say in answer to questions of the end times that the earth “will be ruled from Jerusalem. . .” and get this, are you still reading?. . “Missouri.” Yes, you read that right. (This is about the 16:15 minute of the video). The earth will be ruled from “Jerusalem and Missouri.” Bible thumpers, hello? Even you have to think this is pure nuttery! He says he’s proud of his faith and that there is nothing to distance himself from. And as a morally consistent Mormon this must be not just his church’s teaching, but his own personal belief.

Does this not scare the shit out of you, that a man who literally believes Jesus will rule from two cities, Jerusalem and Missouri, has a chance at becoming the leader of the United States of America? His opponent  the man who is President, is not a Muslim. He was not born on other soil. The state of Hawaii long ago released the long form of his birth certificate, and yet these crazy accusations continue to fly from people who might as well believe in the Flying Spaghetti Monster. 

Then check out Chris Mathew’s video from the “Let Me Finish” segment of his “Hardball” show last night. The first 15 seconds or so are buggered up, so skip past them to where it resets itself, at about the 20 second mark. I don’t always care for Chris Matthews, but he’s won me over (for now) with this defense of Obama’s performance, and his guts, as well as his leadership. Thank you, Mr. Mathews.

Mathews didn’t mention health care, but like this blog post it’s hard to be exhaustive in a short period of time. Perhaps these 25 Reasons will help (click here).

And finally, the last tiny clip. It’s very very short, only 21 second long, but even if you doubt that 537 votes changed the course of history and got George W. Bush elected, at  least consider this. . .

11 thoughts on “Why I am Voting for President Obama and not Mitt Romney

    • Thank you! I appreciate that encouraging message. Where do you live? My polling place doesn’t open for another hour and a quarter. I will wait until the lines die down between 9 am and lunch time though. :)

      Like

  1. Mitt Romney just scares me…and i am glad i am not the only one that feels that way…I voted for Obama last week, and i am screaming it on my facebook page to anyone who wants to vote….it took a long time to get to where we are today…Romney/Ryan will willingly take us back there in seconds…we have to forget all that lie and hypocrisy they are trying to sell as religion and face the truths…

    This is a great post, glad you shared it. Sharing it on twitter…thank you

    Like

    • Thank you, Boom! And thanks for passing it along. I just got back from the polls myself. It’s a beautiful day outside. The turnout has been good locally, and in Pennsylvania in general so far. Keeping my fingers crossed.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Why Chris Mathews is the Bravest Man in Politics « POLITICMIX

Talk to me:

